Chabad-Lubavitch news site

Rationalist Judaism

YU Torah Online

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

The Four Species - The Four Species

The Four Species - The Four Species: " Sukkot mitzvot is the mitzvah of the "Four Kinds" - the lulav, etrog, myrtle and willow. This is a mitzvah like any other mitzvah of the Torah, but it is a very significant one and symbolic of unity and harmony. When the blessings are recited over them, it is customary to wave them to all the four winds and also upward and downward, signifying that G-d is everywhere.

The traditional prayer Hoshana ("O’ save us!") which is said on each of the days of Sukkot (except Shabbat), is accompanied by a procession with the "Four Kinds" around the bimah in the shul."

No comments:

Post a Comment